Irene

Basque Country (North of Spain), 26 years old. And I have studied Social Education. Recruited by WOSM.

Why are you here?

I worked for the KaebNai volunteer association in Basque Country from 2010-2015, helping to improve citizen co-existence between children, teenagers and persons with disabilities. My responsibilities as a volunteer in KaebNai included working to promote multi-cultural exchange between travellers and other ethnic minorities. More specifically, we conducted lots of activities to develop the views and opinions of participants, including workshops and dynamic activities. Living in Greece will provide me with a real opportunity to learn a new language and experience the Greek culture, their traditions and way of thinking. At the same time I believe that volunteering is one of the most important things in life, because it is a way to offer something back to the community and contribute to make it a little better. At the same time, volunteering can also offer one of the most intense and great experiences to the volunteer, offering feelings of fulfilment, connectivity and happiness. I found my time volunteering at KaebNai very rewarding and feel that I am now ready for a new challenge with TTBW.

Favourite moment on the project so far?

The first two days were very productive and interesting as we took part in a psychological first aid training course, but it is still a bit early to talk about the whole project since we have not been in the country for many days and are still in the process of exploration. But up until now we have had the chance to get to know each other as part of the TTBW team and have been introduced to places where we can carry out voluntary work in Athens.

It is great to have met people with concerns similar to mine, who care for others or for a cause of injustice; fighters, very motivated people with initiative … Meeting those brilliant people on my way is always a bonus. It makes me happy and gives me hope for what is to come.

Your proudest moment?

When I decided to break with the routine of day to day and bet on a change, a big change. Despite the fears, insecurities and uncertainty of the process, I remained courageous and motivated to do so. Thanks to this, here begins a new personal learning adventure that I cannot wait to discover. I don’t expect this to be easy, but I am ready and excited. It is an opportunity that I want to experience, a challenge I don’t want to lose and my chance to contribute to something that I really care about.

Your strengths?

I am a dynamic, pro-active and friendly person. I can adapt myself to any situation and person and I create good relations with people of all ages and nationalities. I enjoy working in a group or of my own initiative. I am a very conscientious person, accurate and quick learner and I am a good team player.

How do you relax?

During the day, in nature’s space. During the night, looking to the moon!

If you had a theme song, what would it be?

I’ll be there for you – (The Rembrandts) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-9kPks0IfE

If you were a film character, who would it be?

POCAHONTAS…Wild and Nature lover.


Our Partners


This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. This website reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.