9:00 – 9:45
Welcoming of the participants, Registration, coffee

9:45 – 9:55
Introduction to the event, objectives, background, and agenda. Presentation of the speakers
Ms. Marguerite Potard, Director of the Brussels office- European Scout Region.

9:55 – 10:00
Welcoming words
Mr. Pavel Trantina, European Economic and Social Committee.

10:00 – 10:10
Keynote address, including the announcement of the 3 best practices awarded
Mr. Jyrki Katainen, Vice-President of the European Commission.

10:10 – 10:35
Presentation of the 3 best youth projects aimed at the inclusion of migrants and refugees. Presentation of best practices (projects focused on integrating refugees).

10:35 – 10:45
VP Katainen hands out the awards to the 3 best practices.

10:45 – 11:15
Coffee break.

11:15 – 12:30
Interactive panel session
Input from Scouting and the partner organisations concerning the issues faced by young migrants in Europe. Presentation of the key learning outcomes of the “Time to be Welcome” project.
The panel will be facilitated by Ms. Gabriella Civico, Director of European Volunteering Centre (CEV) and composed of:
Mr. Usaama Kaweesa (British Red Cross volunteer from Time to be Welcome),
Mohammad Tahan, Syrian Refugee in Belgium, who has been involved in one of the projects awarded, 
Ms. Carina Autengruber (Vice president of the European Youth Forum),
Nuria Diez Guardia (Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs. Policy Officer).
Interventions and questions from the audience
12:30 – 12:40
Closing word and wrap up of the Event
Ms. Chip Veerle Haverhals, European Scout Committee
12:40 – 14:00
Lunch and departures

Our Partners

This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. This website reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.